Cigar Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I want to thank everyone for their replies in advance.

Next I will let you know that I am a newbie to the cigar smoking lifestyle. I am only 24. I have been smoking for about 2 years at a rate of about 2 to 3 cigars per week. I have been smoking mostly Padrons, Punches, Don Tomas, and others.

A couple of weeks ago I purchased a box of Montecirsto #2's (Cuban) from a supposed reliable source. After receiving the box I hit the internet and read up on fakes and counterfeit cubans. Having no experience with Cubans, other than some fakes I have gotten in the past, I can only rely on the visual signs of spotting a fake. So far everything seems legit except the ring. The government seal looks to be real down to the micro scripting. The "Habanos sa..." stamp is a heat stamp, the factory code is EOG Feb 03, and the Habanos seal is in the correct place and looks to be real. The Habenos gaurantee was in the box as well as the strip of wax paper across the bands. The piece of cedar between the layers is in good shape and has the finger cut out in the top right hand corner. The cigars look to be in very good shape and uniform in both color and size. They smell great and taste very good. I have smoked some Padron 1926 and 1964 series and these cigars are as good if not better, yet still different. The cigars are firm, not hard, and have no soft spots. I cant check the cap since it is a torpedo. The only other thing I know to do is to cut one open and see if it has long filler or short filler.

Now back to the band. It does not match the band on CA but it is an exact match for the band on the Montecristo C LE 2003. My question is whether they have started putting these new bands on other Monte's or if these are fakes with the wrong band on them. Attached is a pick of the band I am talking about on the Montecristo C LE 2003.