Cigar Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All;

I am new to the forum. I have been smoking for about 3 months now. I have tried about 30 different cigars. I found the Partagas Spanish Rosado to be my favorite so far. Whichs lead to my question.

I know a Camaroon Wrapper is from Camarron. A Indoneasian Wrapper is from Indonesia etc.... However I have seen Rosado Wrappers, Corojo Wrappers, What king of tobacco are these. A local Tobaconist told me that there is really no such thing as Rosado or Corojo, but his explaination stopped there. Any help would be appriciated.

·
HOT for HILLARY!!
3,591 Posts
Corojo is a type of plant and also of Cuban wrapper....well was. Its no longer grown there (and if it is, its pretty limited). Now its grown elsewhere with Cuban Corojo seed. The Rosado is another type of wrapper with a reddish tint....whici is where it gets its name. Both Corojo, rosado, and most every other type of wrapper are distinct because they come from a) different types of tobacco plants b) different parts of the plant c) undergo different processing and fermentation and whatnot.

Im sure a couple of the true experts around here can give you a better answer though.

Just out of curiosity, I see youre from Pittsburgh as well...what tobacconist do you usually go to?

·
Registered
290 Posts
Rosado is spanish for 'rosy'.
Corojo is spanish for 'golden brown'.

These wrapper descriptions basically just describe its color.

Also
Claro = literally 'clear', but usually light tan.
Oscuro = black
Maduro = dark
Colorado = red
Double Claro, also called Candela and AMS (American Market Selection) = a light green
Colorado Claro, basically brown, also called Natural and EMS (English market selection)

Usually, the darker the wrapper, the stronger the flavor.

·
HOT for HILLARY!!
3,591 Posts