Cigar Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been smoking cigars occasionally for about 2 years now. Recently though I have developed a real passion for cigars and have been smoking 2-3 cigars a week - mostly VSG's. I just finished an Illusion - just thinking about makes my palate beg
for another!

So hear I am, seeking your opinions. I'm
searching for a "go to" cigar that compares to a VSG. A cigar with similar characteristics like the full taste and smoothness without the harsh aftertaste. VSG's are hard to find and also costly. My wife thinks I'm nuts but I have been spending alot of time (and $) looking for and buying VSG's. In the last month I have corralled nearly 60 VSG sticks!

I am trying other cigars to compare, but I keep going back to the VSG's. I find the Padron Anniversario Maduros similar to the VSG's but not quite as full bodied. But wonderful nonetheless.

In the last month I've tried:

VSG - Robusto, Illusion, Sorcerer, Enchantment, Belicoso
Padron Anniversario Maduro Torpedo, Exclusivo
Padron 3000 Maduro
RyJ Reserve Maduros
CAO Gold's & L'anniversary
Macanudos
Onxy Reserve
Punch Gran Puro
Punch Rare Corojo
Carlos Torano Reserva Select
Partargas Black
Astral Talanga Valley
AVO Signature Belicoso

Your opinions will be apreciated.

Regards,
Russ
Cigar Sergeant

·
Registered
114 Posts
If your spending that kind of money for a goto cigar, I suggest something from the ISOM like a Cohiba Robusto. Always nice!!Anything Padron is a winner for me also.

Welcome to the forum:w

·
Registered
258 Posts
That's easy as the Vsg is one of my "go to" cigars the last couple years. I think what your looking for IMHO is the Perdomo Reserve, in rosado or maduro they are very similar and about a third of the cost:w . Full rich flavor with a tangy sweetness:D , yum, gonna fire one up just talking about it!;)

·
Registered
200 Posts