Cigar Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I am fairly new to the cigar hobby, however I immediately picked-up on the websites which discuss the dreaded BUG problem that cigars can bring. Now, I hate bugs :rolleyes: and I froze my first 3 boxes of smokes. They tasted and smoked fine for me, but it is a hassle and I wonder if I'm doing harm to my puros.

Question to you wise old smoking gorillas....just how many of you have encountered a bug problem? If I get the sense this is a rarity, I'll be happy to take my chances, but right now at least in my mind I feel like I'm killing the little buggers off for good (even tho the freezing may not be as effective as I'd like to think!).

Down with bugs! :sb

·
Registered
1,305 Posts
Nope, freezing does no harm to cigars IMO. I freeze every single cigar that goes into the cooler. From new cigars to 20+ year old cigars, they all taste fine to me. Anyone whom claims that they can distinguish between a frozen and non-frozen cigars are pulling your leg. LOL Trust me, it's not a pleasant sight to see beetles flying and crawling around in your smokes. It was after that sight that I decided that I would start freezing everything.

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, the sight of that would be enough to make me drink! :al

So, do you follow the standard 3/1/1 approach? (3 days freezer, 1 day fridge, 1 day room temp and then into the dor).

Also, do you bother unpacking smokes from their box or just chuck the whole thing into the cold right away? I was worried about having too much air in the box and then excess condensation during the thaw process, but on the other hand the boxes are already wrapped and the cigars are pretty well packed in there with little room to spare by the mfr....

Thanks for the response! :D

·
Registered
1,305 Posts