Cigar Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'v been up and down the search feature really. It's been said numerous times that when your temp drops that you should maintain an adequate humidity. My question is this. I keep my Humi's in a relatively un-heated basement, temp is usually 55-65 degrees. When the temp drops, which way should I go with the RH? None of the posts say to either raise, or lower the humidity. I notice as the temp goes down here this winter the RH is dropping along with it, sounds like everyone elses situation but where the temp is relatively low in comparison to most of yours should I let the humidity go along with it or should I try to keep it up. My drymistat tubes are not drying up quickly and judging by the weight of the sponge creedos they are not drying up too fast either so I'm stumped. :confused:

·
Registered
3,097 Posts
Butch posted this 11-16-2004 I hope it helps...

Not that I am an expert with this stuff, but I think that it is the manner with which it holds the water and slowly releases it into the surrounding atmosphere. A regular foam wwould not hold it as long or as well. Most all store bought disk (etc) hymidifiers have the same type of foam as florist oasis foam.
But if you look below i think you can do pretty much whatever you want if the hygrometer reads the range that you are looking for:

Taken from Jeeves website:

SUBJECT: Storage and Humidity/Humidification:

As we buy our cigars, we expect them to be ready to smoke as we leave the tobacconist's shop, and we are usually not disappointed. However, many of us buy our cigars in quantities, by the box or at least several at a time, and proper storage becomes a matter of concern.