Cigar Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
482 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I have this very generous friend that does not smoke but loves to pass along the wealth when she can. She recently gave me a few RyJ that I am too unknowledgable to identify.

Slim gold band, black writing, lighter leaf, maybe a churchill but I am bad with sizing and don't have tools. A friend of mine said he thinks they originally came in a tube but I hope that doesn't confuse the situation if hewas wrong.

Who's up to helping be out even though I don't have a digital camera which would make this process much easier? Also, does somebody know where I can find a cigar identification site on the web?

Thanks in advance.

Edit: I just found a picture of it if someone wants to PM me. Unfortunately I cannot measure it because they are living in my friend's humidor.

·
Registered
1,743 Posts
Well, I'm no expert in R&J but it could be one of their Reserva Real line or the regular R&J line. The tubos do come with gold band and black writing. So just smoke it and hopefully you'll enjoy it.

edit: As far as id website. I did a quick search on JR since I know they post pics of most of their merchandise. Also looked at an isom retailer online for pics. Or just google. ;)

·
What would Skeeter do?
4,202 Posts
You have a ruler? How long is it? If that is a Dominican RyJ it would be a tubo.

·
Registered
2,696 Posts
The Dominican version of the Cuban Ryj Churchill was packaged exactly like the Cuban. Churchill sized cigar, gold band, black writing.

·
Registered
482 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
pds said:
The Dominican version of the Cuban Ryj Churchill was packaged exactly like the Cuban. Churchill sized cigar, gold band, black writing.
So it is very possible that I could never know without an experienced palette?

·
MoTheMentor
3,075 Posts
FunkyPorcini said:
So it is very possible that I could never know without an experienced palette?