Cigar Forums banner

Recommend me to some mild to medium $2-$5 cigars

5K views 35 replies 25 participants last post by  carbonbased_al 
#1 ·
I am new to the cigar smoking world - I've smoked about 20 cigars last year, but for Christmas I finally got a humidor. It's similar to the picture at the bottom.

Anyhow, I've been buying a few $8-10 dollar cigars, not really knowing what I was after. Last weekend I got a couple of Cohiba Extra Vigerosos. I was pleased but I think I want to try something less "full bodied".

I'm not looking for a swisher sweet, something that is respectible and smooth, creamy, and has a good aroma/pleasant after-taste. What I'm trying to do is purchase about $90 worth of cigars to start my humidor collection.

I want a couple that are definitely mild, and some between mild and medium. I'd like to buy maybe a box of 18-20 that are in the $4 range, and then grab maybe 10 individual cigars, some cheaper and some around $5, like 2 cigars of 5 brands, just to see what I like. Some can be the mild variety I described above and some can be a medium variety, I just don't want anything too full bodied, as I have already experienced them and am looking to expand.

What I was originally thinking was getting a box of Cusano 18s, a couple Padron Londres, and a couple 5 Vegas coronas. I also want to get about 6 cigars to have that are cheaper (like in the $1-$2 range) and very mild and of decent quality, to use as give-away cigars to friends who stop by and want a smoke. These guys don't love cigars nor know anything about them, but they want to sit out back and smoke one down with me. I was thinking of getting some Oliva- Flor de Oliva Natural Toros for them.

To maybe help out - I usually now am only smoking 1 per week and I'd like my smoke to last 30-40 minutes, in that range.