Cigar Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Sneaky Bombin Bastage
2,569 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just starting to learn about cubans and I have a question concerning wrappers. I love maduro wrappers and that's about all I smoke in NC's. As I look at the pictures of cubans, I'm not really seeing any maduros except for maybe the EL's. Now I know a picture doesn't always do justice, but am I missing something? Am what I'm seeing and calling a dark natural really their maduro? Any opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,978 Posts
I asked the same question , here was the response

Originally Posted by mr.c
I have a question master mo, why isnt there many dark maduro wrappers on cuban cigars ?

MOTHEMAN's reply:

Supposedly the Criollo strain used for Habano wrappers doesn't cure well or smoke well as a Maduro.
Accor. to Poker, in a private conversation I had with him, the LE wrappers are the Habano2000 strain of tobacco, which didn't go well on most cuban cigars when it was first used. I'd only guess that Habanos feels it goes better when cured to a darker color, and then blended to bring out different tastes.
Personally, I think it's a marketing gimic. Although Cuba is communist, I believe that they're capitalists at heart and will act on an opportunity when they see it.
BTW, FYI, Habanos calls the dark color LE wrappers and abhors using the term Maduro -- they consider Connecticut Broadleaf to be the only true Maduro.

·
MoTheMentor
3,075 Posts
mr.c said:
MOTHEMAN's reply:

Supposedly the Criollo strain used for Habano wrappers doesn't cure well or smoke well as a Maduro.
Accor. to Poker, in a private conversation I had with him, the LE wrappers are the Habano2000 strain of tobacco, which didn't go well on most cuban cigars when it was first used. I'd only guess that Habanos feels it goes better when cured to a darker color, and then blended to bring out different tastes.