Cigar Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im a new smoker, enjoyed the first 2 or 3 cigars (A Papalon, a cigar with a "Heaven" lable on it, and a Romeo and Julietta I believe) I had, but recently had a few cigars that all left the same bitter taste in my mouth, like I was smoking a chunk of wood. I would like (as anyone would i imagine) to avoid this situation in the future. I was hoping someone could give me a link to a site for complete and total newbies like me, so that I wont burden the forum with many questions like "What is purging."
Thanks in advance,
Jerry

·
Registered
1,431 Posts
Hi Jerry! Welcome to the Jungle!!! :)

Your problem could be several things - one is that your cigars are burning too hot. This causes the nicotine and tar to gather at the end of the cigar giving you a bitter finish (the aftertaste you describe). A possible solution is to allow your cigars to rest while you smoke - what I mean is to allow 20-30 seconds between draws. This usually results in a cooler smoke and a slower burn.

Of course, it is possible you got hold of bad cigars. They could be dry and musty.

Hope this advice helps... Another good tip is to pick up the The Complete Idiot's Guide to Cigars. I know the title sounds a bit degrading, but it is a great guide to beginning smoking, so good that many veterans like it as well. It is recommended reading on the Top 25 Cigar site.

Well, again, welcome to the wonderful world of cigars!

:)

·
MoTheMentor
3,075 Posts
Welcome aboard dude!
Grab a banana, uh, a cigar, and join the company.

What Wetterhorn said. It's good advice.
But, simpler yet, just click on the "search" word (in the oyellow-orange band above) and type in the key word you're looking for.
There's such a wealth of knowledgeable in this group here; we are very lucky indeed.

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
Jerry,