Cigar Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the cigar world. I have tried cigars here and there before, but had a friend give a good cigar and now I am hooked. I am very fond of the Carbonell Presidente, but hard to find. I had a Drew Estates Natural ”Dirt”, also found it to be very good. But don’t care much for the available sizes they came in (prefer a Churchill). Had an Oliveros sweet the other day and liked that a little, the flavored cigars are a little too sweet. I really enjoy a naturally sweet wrapper like the Carbonells. Any thing else out that would be good to try that’s close to it.

·
What would Skeeter do?
4,202 Posts
You might try a Google search & use the word Carbonell. Make sure you spell it right & you should find more than one site that features this cigar.

Other cigars to try would be Baccarat. I think La Fontana may have a sweet gum sealant, but am not sure as I have not tried the natural line of this cigar.

Another that features a sweet sealant is, I believe, some lines of Nat Sherman, but am also unsure of this. the Nat Shermans I have smoked did not.

When you get more curious, & you will, you might try some of the milder Dominican cigars. They have a natural sweet high in the sinus that many smokers find appealing. There are many, but Macanudo, Fonseca, Casa Blanca, Bolivar, etc. might be a good place to start.

Some maduros have a deeper sweet tone which is very nice. The Macanudo Hampton Court tubo maduro is a nice cigar.

Nicaraguan tobaccos have a sweetness, but have greater body & depth.

Take it at your own pace & let your palate develop on it's own & have fun.

BTW, welcome to the forum & also to the Journey. :)

·
Registered
949 Posts
Deriffe Partagas makes the Spanish Rosado not Macanudo.

ff6849
I would try a Cuesta Rey Centenario. These Cigars have a really sweet taste to me. Not sure if the flavor profile will fit what you like. But these are almost floral in flavor to me.