Cigar Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Being a Newbie I have a question about Humidors. Are all cigars regardless of wrappers, filler or ring size suppose to be kept at the same settings for moistness or will the above make a difference. In other words is it recommended to have several humidors for verious make, sizes and shapes?

·
Registered
449 Posts
I agree with Lamar!! I started out with a 50ct and it was full in less than 3 monthes. i now have a 200 count and I am thinking about a bigger one yet. So I say all of this to say get one bigger than you would think you will need and when the bug gets to you like it did me you will have room to grow! :z

·
What would Skeeter do?
4,202 Posts
Many people say that Camacho Corojo seems to age better at around 65% rh, but I imagine you'll do just fine with about any cigar if you can keep it at around 65-70% rh.

·
Registered
177 Posts
Start out with a 150 quart marine cooler. Trust me, it will save you multiple upgrades, and you will eventually need it!

I find that almost all my cigars smoke better at about 65% RH. I have some draw problems with habanos at 70%. Your milage may vary.

Good Luck and Good Smoking! :)

·
Registered
234 Posts
Herfazilla is spot on. A big Igloo cooler, and stuff as much spanish cedar/boxes/sticks in it as you can. This helps to stabilize the humidity.

Never had one, but others have said Acid cigars are so aromatic that they must be kept in a separate humidor. Same for Kahula, and one would assume any of the flavored sticks.

You WILL buy more sticks than you can imagine! Go big, early, and save your cash for cigars.

·
Still Smitty's biotch!
3,335 Posts
I use a 48 qt Igloo cooler. I have close to 400 cigars on hand in it; although most of my cigars are Robusto size and smaller.

I posted this a while back and figured I would start reposting it into threads now and then to help newbies assemble a good Coolerdor.

Here is all you need: