Cigar Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been smoking cigars for about three months--with the ultimate goal of replacing cigarette smoking with cigars.
My question is: How often does one recharge the humidifier element in a small humidor(7"X51/4"X3")?

·
Registered
369 Posts
At least for me this isn't easy to answer. It has a lot to do with what the humidity is outside the humidor. When it's dryer outside you'll have to recharge the humidistat more often. Generally if your humidor is more than half full, rapid fluctuations in humidity are less frequent (more stuff is humidified -- cigars absorb and give off moisture according to the environment that surrounds them). You may also have to refill less if you have more cigars in your humidor as long as your humidor is well built.

The best way to tell when you need to refill is by using a hygrometer. Anywhere between 60 and 70% relative humidity and you'll be safe. You may want to check your hygrometer with the "salt test" to see how accurate it is. Analog hygrometers are notoriously inaccurate. Digital hygrometers are the best but some can vary wildly too. A lot of folks have very specific humidities, even temperatures, they prefer. You can experiment with the hymidity to find where your cigars smoke the best. Just avoid real high humidities and temperatures for extended periods. I think that you should sweat bullets over humidity and temperature only after you really get into this as a hobby and you're looking at some serious storage issues (buying several boxes at a time/laying away to age for year(s) etc). If what your store is for the short term; don't worry.