1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Cigar Forums,

I have the following humidor

Helmet Shelf Shelving Automotive design Display case

My humidity sometimes get too high and not sure how to bring that down. I have a little water tray in the bottom but I would love some tips on how to keep my cigars on the up and up and not having to check this almost every day. I am new to the humidor community and any tips to get this to tip top shape would be great.

Thanks so much!

-Ted

·
Super Moderator
8,681 Posts
Boveda packs, Heartfelt beads (HB), or silica kitty litter (KL). These are 2-way media that can both raise and lower humidity to a specific RH%. Bovedas are by far the easiest to use, albeit also the most expensive of the three.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Boveda packs, Heartfelt beads (HB), or silica kitty litter (KL). These are 2-way media that can both raise and lower humidity to a specific RH%. Bovedas are by far the easiest to use, albeit also the most expensive of the three.
Also how many packets should I use. It's a 3 tier shelf along with a drawer. Should I place them in the drawer? Apologies for the questions.

·
The Karate Squid
10,158 Posts
Depending on your ambient temp and how much the unit has to run, it might be pretty tough to keep it stable.

I've found over the years that most guys who have great experiences don't have much of a temp/humidity differential. If the unit has to run much, it'll weak havoc on the rh.

Also, sweet Shredder shredder!

·
Wildman
556 Posts
Everything posted so far +1.

I don't know anything about the Audew unit pictured - let's start there. However, I have 10+ years experience with both Thermoelectric and Freon cooled boxes - the past 7 years using freon cooled boxes and in the process of building a 7 cu ft new freon cooled rig.