Cigar Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello !

I'm very new to the cigar world, and after buying some and storing them inside plastic bags with Boveda 70%, I've decided to buy a Humidor (Adorini Chianti Deluxe).
One of the problem I had (which might be important for what comes next) is that I fear I might have received some old product, since the magnets behind the humidification unit were off of it, and the glue seemed dry... BUT the pre-calibrated hygrometer (analog, synthetic hair from Adorini) showed over 70% humidity right out of the (unopened !) box.

My main question being : after doing double calibration with damp cloth for 96% and salt paste for 76% (even when the manual said it wasn't necessary), the humidity inside the box itself after one night went above 75%, and I can't figure out what's wrong...
Here's a list of leads and issues :

-My weather app says the air humidity is above 90% where I live. It's been raining a lot lately. So I feel that leaving the humidor opened won't make it lower ?
-I may have dampened the wood too much when I prepared it ? I made 2-3 dampening with a clean sponge and distilled water, since it was drying off really quickly. Maybe it was too much and the cedar wood is too humid now ?
-I may have filled my humidifier unit with too much water too. I just kept going until there was some water excedent, but the crystals swelled a lot and are almost completely filling it. Is it possible that due to this, it releases too much humidity afterwards ?
-It's pretty hot these days, around 77-85° (25-30°C). This morning I've put the humidor (closed, and without the humidifier) in my basement, which is a bit colder. I hope the humidity will lower this way...