Cigar Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
449 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Question for you knowledgable Gorillas out there, I picked up this Cohiba DR at a smoke shop in Memphis earlier today but I am unsure of its authenticity. I know Cohiba DR has the Red Dot and the other but I have alson heard that there is some left over with this old style band? help would be appreciated. Hopefully I can upload the pic the first time. BTW the band says COHIBA-top Republica Dominicana-bottom

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
I'm no expert here, but I'll give you my opinion.

I think they are fake. Either that, or the yellow band Cohibas I've seen are fake/different. All the ones I've seen have the "Republica Dominica" centered vertically in the yellow space (not so far to the top). It has also been in cursive or "script" (not printed in block-type letters) on all the ones I've seen.
In the picture you posted the three rows of white dots are also shifted downward (not centered on the black area). This could also indicate a possible forgery. Again, I'm no expert.....ther are alot of people here more knowledgable than me.

I'd be interested in seeing what the pros say around here....I have a shop locally that has a huge stock of yellow band Cohibas; and they're reasonably priced. If they are genuine, I just may pick some up!!! :D

·
Registered
449 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks sean for the links and thanks poker for posting the picture here. sean I knew these were not isom Cohibas but rather I was wondering if anyone had had any experience with these. Thanks for the links because they did clear up a couple of questions that I had though.

·
What would Skeeter do?
4,202 Posts
An injunction was awarded General Cigar (Red Dot Cohiba) some time ago & this cigar is no longer in production. It was less a "fake" or "knockoff" as it was a pirating of the name Cohiba.