Cigar Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

I'm a beginner to cigars and I'm having some trouble with seasoning my new humidor. I bought an Audew JC-23C1 150ct humidor. I did the wipe down method (after doing more research I realized it was a terrible idea) and I have had the sponge in there for 11 days. My RH keeps fluctuating between 85%-89%, and my shelves are still damp. What do I do? Am I doing it correctly? Should I take the sponge out and place the container that came with the humidor inside of it with distilled water? Or should I leave the sponge and be patient? Am I doing this all wrong??

·
Retired Chaos Designer
12,608 Posts
I would suggest that you take out the sponge and all humidity devices that you might have. If you’ve had a wet/damp sponge in there for 11 days then it’s absorbed all the moisture it’s going to, its time to start bringing it back down. You’re probably going to have to leave the door open for about 15-20 minutes, close the door and give it about 8-12 hours, see whe the rh is and do it again until you get it down to around 70 then you can stabilize it and bring it down to where you want it. It’ll probably take another week or so.
Have you calibrated your hygrometer?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have 2 hydrometers and I calibrated both of them already, one was a point off and the other was spot on. I have 5 packs of boveda 69% ready to go in but I can't get the RH down and the shelves dry so I will try opening the door and repeating like you said. Should I take everything out and just have the hydrometer in there? Then when the RH drops to 70% but the boveda packs in to stabilize the RH?

I also have another question about the inside temperature, when I plug in the humidor and set the temp to 70, the hydrometer says it runs between 62-68.