Cigar Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
662 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need a recommendation. Since I have built a cigar stash and now have some 80 cigars in my new humidor, the opportnity has come up quite often that people I know wanna go have a cigar.

Now... there are different kinds of people. There are people that love cigars, know their brands, they actually buy cigars and can distiguishthe good from the bad. But there's those other folks who like to smoke a cigar for the novelty of it, so they can feel like George Burns and the name on the band means nothing to them... they're just having fun. Or their just doing it cause I'm doing it.

Well, I'm still pretty new to cigars myself, but most of the cigars I own are individually different, mostly all kinds i have not yet tried. So when I get one of these "smoking just for the novelty of it" people around and they wanna take a cigar and smoke it, it's hard for me to give up a cigar I haven't even tried... it's like, why let this person who doesn't even care smoke a cigar that could be a potential favorite??

So I was thinking maybe I could buy a box of "trick-cigars"... cheap cigars that still burn as slow as a high quality cigar, taste good enough to pass as something higher than a swisher sweet, and would still give someone that novel cigar smoker feeling, while I light up one of my samples and explore the new flavors available to me. Something that looks official enough but doesn't cost much.

I bring this up because I let my younger brother have an A. Fuente the other day, I lit it for him and as I started it I was like "wow this is a good cigar"... and I'm not sure if he even tasted it. I could have given him a swisher and he wouldn't have known the difference, or cared.

I do have friends who love the leaf who I gladly will share a quality unknown stogie with to get their opinion, also knowing they would probably return the favor. But I don't want to cast my pearls before swine.