Solani Silver Flake - Cigar Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-16-2011, 04:43 PM Thread Starter
Young Puffer Fish

Solani Silver Flake

This is my first attempt at a review and it was my first taste of pipe tobacco so please take that into consideration. Upon opening the tin I was presented with a plastic bag folded over itself containing long flakes of a dark brown color with streaks of a lighter brown woven in kind of like the fat in a well marbled streak. After breaking the plastic seal I took a good whiff of the contents within. The smell was unfamiliar to me but I still found it pleasant. Its hard to describe exactly what it smelled like but I guess dark and fruity would work?
First I will say that Silver Flake was a poor choice for me as a starter. I didn't know what the hell I was doing when packing it so my first few bowls were pretty rough. Even rubbing it out resulted in constant relights, almost no flavor, and a bit of tongue bite. The only thing keeping me from giving up on it was the flavor I got out of the first few puffs on the light up. 15 or so bowls smoked and many threads of advice read from people on this forum and I was finally able to keep the pipe lit for more than 5 minutes at a time. As my technique got better, so did my enjoyment of silver flake.
For best results, I would fold, twist, and stuff the flake lightly into the bowl. I found the flavor to be very light. Much lighter than what what I was expecting since I'm used to the in-your-face flavors of cigars. I am pretty bad at picking out flavors and nuances in tobacco. I like what I like and cant really explain why but If I had to describe the taste id say it was like a very floral and clean tasting cigarette maybe? Well thats all I have to say about Silver Flake. Hope this review has been helpful and sorry if it seemed like rambling.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 07-16-2011, 09:44 PM
Alpha Puffer Fish

Re: Solani Silver Flake