Cigar Discussion Forums

Cigar Discussion Forums (https://www.cigarforums.net/forums/vb/)
-   Guns and Knives (https://www.cigarforums.net/forums/vb/guns-knives/)
-   -   Which 1911 to buy? (https://www.cigarforums.net/forums/vb/guns-knives/172638-1911-buy.html)

dukeofbluz 12-12-2011 06:42 PM

Which 1911 to buy?

Well I purchased a Springfield XDm thanks to you guys, now how about advice on a 1911?

I prefer stainless, Kimber, Smith and Wesson, Springfield or others?

Let the advice fly!

Thank you,
Duke

LLave 12-12-2011 07:04 PM

Re: Which 1911 to buy?

I myself would go after a Kimber.

cw_mi 12-14-2011 10:48 AM

It all depends on what you want. A heirloom , a carry piece , something custom..etc ? There are so many options out there it is quite overwhelming. Check out 1911forums.com and spend some time researching.

I'm pretty new to the 1911 thing and use mine strictly for range time, heirloom guns. My first was a Colt Delta Elite that has had some custom work done to it. Currently my smith is building up a Fusion longslide and I've got a Caspian damascus slide /Ti frame on order for my next one, all in 10mm.

For out of the box performace I'd probably go with :
Les Bear
Springfield Loaded
Dan Wesson

But I'm sure there are many more out there.

AStateJB 12-14-2011 11:04 AM

How much do you want to spend...?

dukeofbluz 12-14-2011 02:30 PM

Quite overwhelming is an UNDERSTATEMENT!
My question was like asking, which cigar I would like.
I have looked at so many 1911's in the past 4 days and read everything I could find, my mind is spinning.
After looking at over 100, 1911's I kept coming back to a used custom built officers model, built on a Caspian frame and slide.
This gun is sweet! i'll be picking it up Saturday!

yes I spent more then I wanted lol

Thank you,
Duke

cw_mi 12-14-2011 06:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dukeofbluz (Post 3455543)
Quite overwhelming is an UNDERSTATEMENT!
My question was like asking, which cigar I would like.